Happy Birthday to Me

Big changes in my life since my last post.

The elderly couple whose properties I had been maintaining both died, and one of the properties was sold, leaving me with not much to feel productive about. I had promised myself that after they were gone so was I, and it seems to be working out that way. Forty years of Maine winters is an awful lot.


20091018_015

A cold day in heck.


So here I am on my birthday, in a putatively warmer clime, hunting for a house. It’s kind of cool today, I don’t think the temperature broke 70; but it was in the 90s all last week and it’s supposed to warm back up to the upper 80s again later this week. Beats the 30s and snow they’re having today back in Maine.

I stumbled across a small state park this afternoon. Not much there, but it supplied a respite from people and buildings for a little while. Worth the three dollar entrance fee: finally learning how to identify the three different kinds of mangrove that grow around here. I also ran across these little guys:


20091018_013

A bunch of tiny crabs at the water’s edge at Don Pedro Island State Park.


This one was crossing the path in front of me as I headed back to the car:


20091018_024

“You’ll never get the secret recipe outta me!”


I paid for that shot. After crawling around on all fours, sticking my macro lens in the claw of this arthropod, I found I couldn’t straighten up. I had to make my way back to the car crabwise. My back is still in spasm. Still, it was worth it.

15 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me”

  1. iamfelix Says:

    Yikes, I’ve had the spasm thing on a few occasions – No fun. Hope you’re feeling better soon. If it’s any help, the pics are great.

  2. iamfelix Says:

    Oh, and belated Happy Birthday!

  3. lizardbrain Says:

    Thanx, iamfelix. 800 mg of ibuprofen later, I’m feeling somewhat better. And thanx, too, for the birthday greeting.

  4. Bronxblog2 Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY 2 yooo, HAPPY BIRTHDAY 2 yooo, HAPPY BIRTHDAY dear Brudder, HAPPY BIRTHDAY 2 yooooo. (And MANY MORRRRE!)

    9

  5. Bronxblog2 Says:

    Sorry ’bout the back…..loved yer crabs!

  6. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    Did our paths cross at one point?
    :o)

    Happy Birthday and happy landings! South of Tampa? It’s lovely there.

    Best wishes for all the best.

  7. lizardbrain Says:

    Hey, Joan! I believe our paths did cross. At any rate, I gave you a mental wave as I passed St Augustine on my way down here, although you may have been gone by then.

    Thanx for the birthday and other wishes.

    I hope it all works out well for you in the North. :) I trust it’s ok if I say a prayer for you.

    I’m headed back to Maine this weekend to pack up my stuff for the actual move. I’ll wave to you again.

  8. tinasphotoblog Says:

    Happy birthday to you and I hope you´re gonna feel better soon. I love the photo with the big claw, is it a lobster? It doesn´t look like a crab to me.

  9. lizardbrain Says:

    Thanx for the birthday wish, Tina. My back is better now.

    That cute little guy with the big claw is some sort of crab, although I don’t know what kind. It’s not a lobster; lobsters are much larger. This animal was only about 2 inches (about 5 cm) in width.

    Now that you mention it, I don’t have any photos of lobsters. That’s a serious lack for someone who photographs in Maine. I’ll have to try to get some.

  10. S. Weasel Says:

    <pokes LB with a finger>

    Well?

  11. lizardbrain Says:

    Mom! Make her stop poking me!

  12. S. Weasel Says:

    Yay! I made it squeak!

    Just checking…

  13. lizardbrain Says:

    Yeah, my move didn’t work out, and I’ve been stuck in a funk for over a year.

    I’ve been thinking about posting some more here, since I don’t like putting my work on facebook; but while I have some new stuff, it’s still in the can (is that still an accurate term in the digital age?). I s’pose I could get off my sorry old rear end and edit it…

    Thanx for the poke, Stoaty.

    pee ess:

    I do stop by your place every morning, still; I just don’t have much to say. Strong & silent, that’s me.

  14. S. Weasel Says:

    Ugh. Sorry about the move. I understand this Winter was especially brutal.

    On the other hand, moving is brutal, too. I’m still recovering from mine. The house still looks like the intersection of a jihadi and a cardboard factory.

    Anyhow, it just occurred to me I hadn’t heard a peep out of you in a long time. (Geez, I typo’d that as “poop” at first).

  15. lizardbrain Says:

    Not to mention you seem to have brought New England weather with you to Old England. You guys have been having a spell, too.

    And thank you for the descriptive phrase, “the intersection of a jihadi and a cardboard factory.” Now I have a word picture of my living quarters.

    Finally: since I went low-carb, they’ve been pretty quiet. :)

Comments are closed.


