Focus

I was trying to do too many things at once this past Sunday. As a result, I did none of them well.

Sunday was my every-fourth-week drive to Denmark, Maine, with a friend and his daughter. I’ve been promising her for six months that I’d take her on a little hike one of these times, and the weather was too good to pass up this time. As is usual for me, I grabbed my camera and tripod; because, if I’m gonna be out in the woods, I’m gonna be taking pictures.

Except I hadn’t hiked Douglas Mountain in about twenty-five years and my memory was a little fuzzy on the length of the hike. And when I take pictures I like to take my time.

So we ended up not being able to reach the summit, and I hurried the shots and came away with not much usable, and we were late getting to Denmark.

I need to learn to focus.


20090426_001

A small waterfall on Douglas Mountain


20090426_006

A small stream on Douglas Mountain


5 Responses to “Focus”

  1. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    The soft blur of a forgiving lens is something I appreciate as I grow older.

    Very nice pics!

  2. lizardbrain Says:

    Joan! You just reminded me to feel guilty because I haven’t dropped by your place in a coon’s age. Actually, I haven’t been doing much with the intertubes at all, lately. I’ve been mostly sitting and pouting because a stupid one-hour hike lays me up for a week.

    I know what you mean about the forgiving lens. I’m usually behind it, but a few weeks ago someone else took a closeup of me. No soft filter. Auto-focus. Why do I look like a young hottie from the inside but not from the outside?

  3. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    Ah, guilt! As a Catholic, I come by it honestly, but there’s no need for you to feel the slightest tinge of it!

  4. lizardbrain Says:

    I come by mine honestly, too, but for another reason. Thank you for your absolution! Now I can go and sin some more.

  5. bronxblog2 Says:

    You need to FOCUS….??? Is that a photography joke (HAHA)? Your focus looks fine to me….excellent pics, I love ’em!

Comments are closed.


