Happy New Year!

Stoaty likes to post “a picture of the last light of the year on New Year’s Eve,” but I’m generally a morning person, so I like to shoot the first light of the new year.

I didn’t get out for a proper shoot this year, because I was geared up for snow removal (from a storm that didn’t materialize). So I cheated. I just stepped outside my door and took some quick snapshots of the high school across the street in silhouette, and then of the snow-bound football field. The brief exposure to the 5-degree temperature numbed my fingers and made ’em hurt like heck when they started to thaw.


20090101_002

Deering High School at dawn on the first day of 2009


20090101_004

Deering High School football field, imprisoned behind a chain-link fence on the first day of 2009


20090101_007

Deering High, a closer look


The other day, I found a link to one of those sites that “rate” your blog for you. This one came out as a “G,” I think, with a note that one post had used the word “shoot” once. I dunno how to talk about photography without using the word “shoot,” nor do I want to. Strange that a normal activity, like shooting (whether with a camera or weapon), could be the cause of concern to some. More PC intrusion in our lives.

Shoot.

4 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    Bang!

    Happy New Year!

    :o)

  2. lizardbrain Says:

    Yuh got me!

    Wait… aren’t you supposed to be using a cutlass, or cutlad, or something? They don’t usually go bang.

  3. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    Au contraire. The really smart pirates had those precursors to the revolver. Don’t make me go and find pictures!

  4. lizardbrain Says:

    No need. I’m such a geek I already found ’em. They’re sorta like the ones found at PiratePistol.com, aren’t they? Well, duh. If I weren’t so retarded I would’ve remembered that from the old Peter Pan animated movie I saw when I was a kid.

Comments are closed.


