Cram It!

My bookmarks file is a bloated two megabytes. I save bookmarks that look interesting, and then forget them. A few days ago, as I was browsing some of the photography-related links, I found some good stuff.

One of the links was to NatureScapes.net. I originally found the link at Reflections By Kris, but this time I took the time to read it.

I found a link there to an article by a Michael Brown, titled “The Art of Abstract Macro Photography.” I haven’t been a big fan of macro photography, mainly because my attempts have turned out to be mostly boring. In the article, he discusses a technique he calls the “Cram It” method. It looked interesting, so I tried it out.

Some of the stuff I got was pretty crappy, some of it was okay, and some of it I really liked.

This rose wasn’t, strictly speaking, “crammed,” but I like it anyway, so I’m including it here:

Rose <em>Carefree Beauty</em>

Rose Carefree Beauty

Some of them came out looking like the sorts of things Georgia O’Keeffe obsessed about:

New Guinea Impatiens

New Guinea Impatiens

Some were, indeed, filmy and abstract:

New Guinea Impatiens

New Guinea Impatiens

Pink Petunia

Pink Petunia

Rose <em>Carefree Beauty</em>

Rose Carefree Beauty

And some were so vague as to defy analysis:

Purple Petunia

Purple Petunia

I really like this one:

Rose <em>Carefree Beauty</em>

Rose Carefree Beauty

I think I’ll do some more.

3 Responses to “Cram It!”

  1. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    I really like that last one, along with the afternoon light of the previous post.

    Nice!

  2. lizardbrain Says:

    Thanx, Joan.

    Yeah, it’s all about the light. As much as I hate the climate here in northern New England, I’m blessed with wonderful light for most of the year. I do everything slowly, and that includes photography. When I shoot in more southern latitudes I have to rush, because the sun races through sunrises and sunsets and the light is awfully harsh for most of the day. Here I can mosey along and take my time.

    Right now it’s very foggy; good weather for pix, bad weather for the camera. I’m having another cup of coffee to try to work up the motivation to get out there and shoot some more.

  3. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    When I shoot in more southern latitudes I have to rush, because the sun races through sunrises and sunsets and the light is awfully harsh for most of the day.

    Huh. I’ve lived here all my life. I’m always caught short by the fact of the earth’s axial proclivities. No wonder I love the Fall of the year here. It’s a mellowing of the harsh. Nice.

    Thanks.

Comments are closed.


