One Afternoon at the Shore

I don’t usually shoot late in the day; dawn is more my style. But lately I’ve been sleeping till seven o’clock or so, and missing the morning light. These were taken a couple of days ago at Portland Head in Cape Elizabeth, late in the afternoon.

Portland Head Light and Ram Island Ledge Light

Portland Head Light and Ram Island Ledge Light

Portland Head Light, up close and personal

Portland Head Light, up close and personal

Portland Head Light, from the East

Portland Head Light, from the East

One of the things I don’t like about shooting later in the day is that it’s hard to keep people out of the frame. They lead the eye right to themselves and distract from the other elements of the picture. Early mornings are much less crowded.

I guess I gotta get off my lazy rear end and start getting up at a decent hour again.

