rsync and ssh

No, it doesn’t have anything to do with boy bands and being quiet. It’s how I manage files between computers without giving away the farm.

When I got back from vacation, I happily plugged my external usb hd into my desktop to move my images over for editing. I’m not real good at the organization stuff, however. Some of the images I thought I had were missing because they were in another directory on the laptop. When I tried to move them over using rsync, I kept getting the

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@ WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED! @ @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SOMEONE IS DOING SOMETHING NASTY!

warning.

Now, I could have just moved the external hd from the desktop to the laptop, copied the relevant directories, and then moved the external hd back. That would have been the easy, practical way to solve the problem. So, of course, that’s exactly what I didn’t do. What I did was, first, procrastinate for a couple of weeks. Then, when I finally got off my butt to do something about it, I got all obsessive-compulsive geeky and had to fix rsync to move the stuff.

Turns out that rsync relies on ssh to provide secure file transfers between hosts (I knew that!). It took me a long time and a lot of clustying to finally guess that I had to delete the existing keys in my known_hosts file because a computer with a new operating system on it is a different host than it was with the old operating system (I knew that, too!).

Note: because I only use rsync between 2 computers, I simply deleted all entries in the known_hosts file. If I were using it between more hosts, I would’ve had to just delete the entries for host “desktop,” leaving the others intact.

Now that I’ve gotten rsync working and I’ve copied the directories I needed to my desktop, I can procrastinate for another few weeks before I post the pix from my vacation.

Oh, what the heck. Here’s a teaser. This is a picture of the house and barn from the far corner of one of the fields:


20070807_020a.jpg

Down on the (un-given-away) farm


6 Responses to “rsync and ssh”

  1. S. Weasel Says:

    Oh, what a classic white farmhouse in the country.

    The farm next to us growing up looked like that, with the long porch and the tin roof. Mid 19th C, at a guess. I loved that place. So what’d they do? The tore off the porch, covered the facade in stone and built a hot-tub out the side. Eventually, that abomination of a travesty burned to the ground, though, so all is well.

  2. lizardbrain Says:

    Ack! Burning to the ground was a mercy, after they took a nice country girl and turned her into a California “professional.”

    This house isn’t as cherry as it looks once you get up close, but I like the interior, which has lots of unexpected corners to look around. The only thing it’s missing is secret passages.

  3. lizardbrain Says:

    Oh, and the barn is filled with old junk. Who doesn’t love to root through discarded 19th-century tools ‘n stuff?

  4. Joan of Argghh! Says:

    C’mon ya geek, post something!

  5. lizardbrain Says:

    Dang.

    For some reason, Joan, I never got the email notification of your comment. Sorry.

    I’ll try to drag myself outta bed long enuf to find some more pix to post.

  6. XOXO:-D Says:

    You make my head hurt tryin’ to unnerstand all the tech stuff, but when I got to the pitcher, it was worth it. Purty!

    P.S. Sekrit passage? Did ya check the ceiling in the blue bedroom? Also the closet in same?

Comments are closed.


