It Doesn’t Rhyme With “Waco”

I had to travel to the VA Clinic at Saco (pronounced SOCK-o) today, and the brain damage cleared away long enough for me to remember that Laurel Hill Cemetery on Beach Street is known for its masses of daffodils. This being daffodil season around these parts, I took the old Nikon and tripod with me and shot some more daffodils (as if you hadn’t had enough).

Lots of mommies pushing baby-filled strollers, some parking the kids in the middle of the flowers for cute photos. It was a nice cap to a task-filled day that had no space in it for my afternoon nap.

I wanted to post more pix out of this shoot, so I made ’em smaller. If they strain your eyes, lemme know and I’ll make ’em bigger and just take the account quota hit.


Path leading down to the Saco River, which at this point is a tidal estuary:

20070501_001a.jpg


There are lots of granite memorial benches, like this one:

20070501_002a.jpg


The daffodils come in several colors:

20070501_011a.jpg


These are nice:

20070501_020a.jpg


There’s even a bit of salt marsh. The wind wasn’t blowing especially hard, but it didn’t let up much. Because I was going for the depth of field, I was shooting at slow shutter speeds and had to time the shots for when the flowers were relatively still:

20070501_026a.jpg


This is the slope down to the river from the road where the less active people park and watch:

20070501_028a.jpg


I could swear that I heard little daffodil voices singing, “Neener, neener, neener” to the marble reminder of mortality in their midst:

20070501_029a.jpg


And here’s Captain Jack:

20070501_034a.jpg

