It’s Back! Rats. I really need to check for titles I’ve already used.

One of the little darlings that was buried by the last snowstorm is once again showing off its cute bits. Yeah, I know most of you have been seeing this stuff for weeks, but Spring arrives slowly in Maine.

This is an illustration of the use of RAW format. The camera’s automatic white balance function was confused by the lighting and I didn’t feel like going out and crawling among the rose thorns again. Here’s the crocus without correction:

crocus_blue.jpeg

This is what it looked like after I used the “shade” white balance setting in the GIMP that I should have used on the camera:

crocus_corrected.jpeg

It’s like having a moron safety net. Sweet.

2 Responses to “It’s Back! Rats. I really need to check for titles I’ve already used.”

  1. S. Weasel Says:

    Man, when I think back to film camera days, working with photographers doing table-top sets. There was little to nothing you could do to correct photos after the fact. Most of the stuff we did was on 2 1/4″ transparencies, so we didn’t even have the usual darkroom tricks at our disposal. We had to make reality look the way we wanted it to, and then just take the most accurate exposure we could.

  2. lizardbrain Says:

    And that medium-format film was expensive. Even shooting 35mm, mistakes were costly.

    During one fall foliage season, I crawled out of bed one morning at half past midnight, drove 2 1/2 hours to Pinkham Notch in the White Mountains, and then climbed for another 2 1/2 hours in the dark up the Wildcat Ridge Trail (one of the more rugged trails in the AT system). I got in position in time to catch the sunrise hitting the face of Mount Washington across the valley.

    On the way down, I stopped to take some more shots of the valley from a different vantage point. That’s when I noticed that I had shot the sunrise with the wrong film speed setting on the camera. Nothing I could do with grossly underexposed film; it can be scanned and lightened in Photoshop, but then it just looks like a lightened underexposure. I keep those slides as a reminder. I don’t always remember.

    Hooray for digital! It was made for brain-damaged souls like me.

    Only problem is the Fujichrome Provia II mouldering in the back of the refrigerator. Six years old and still aging; and every day the color shifts a little more. Plus, it smells like Pecorino Romano.

Comments are closed.


