Spring Snow in Maine

I learned a lesson from the shoot at Bug Light the other day. I’ve been shooting my images as TIFF format, just because I’m lazy. After I get ’em on the computer, I have to convert ’em to jpeg format, and then resize the ones I want to post here. The problem with that is that sometimes I’m stuck with an image whose exposure is not what I want; but at that point I can’t do anything about it.

Today’s shoot was strictly RAW format. It adds several (long) steps in processing, but the advantage is that I can adjust the exposure and white balance after I get home. My back likes that: hunched over the keyboard is a lot more comfortable than bent over the tripod. Plus I’m not gonna lose the light or the subject while I’m getting the perfect exposure.

Here are a couple of examples:

20070325_005a.jpeg

This is a tidal creek at the Fore River Sanctuary in Portland after last night’s snow. I think that’s a mallard in the middle, but I can’t identify it for sure.


20070325_006a.jpeg

Spring snow on some sort of pine. I didn’t stop to identify the species.


The RAW files take up an awful lot of room on the memory card. I may have to invest in another, but it might be worth it.

Oh and the GIMP roolz! Take that, Winblows! That’s one less program I need to keep that crappy so-called OS around for.

5 Responses to “Spring Snow in Maine”

  1. XOXO:-D Says:

    Ooh, oooh, ooooh, oooooh!!!!!! Tidal creek was just DUCKY, & the pine is DIVINE!!!!!!!

  2. S. Weasel Says:

    My problem with the Gimp is that I’ve been a Photoshop user for so long. You know how you thoroughly learn your way around one program, you become a complete idiot with another, similar program because it’s all different you can’t think past that? Like that. The Gimp made me make “meeeeehhhh, meeeeeehhhh” noises.

    I first learned Corel Draw for a vector program (I was a beta tester for them, in fact), and I’ve never been able to wrap my head around Adobe Illustrator.

  3. lizardbrain Says:

    Yeah, the same thing happens to me when I try to use GnuCash for business finance. I’m just too used to Quickbooks Pro. I think it’s the only reason I still keep a Windoze 98 box around. GnuCash just seems too clunky & weird.

    All I use the GIMP for is adjusting values in RAW files. My Nikon came with software to manipulate RAW output, but it only works in Windoze (and maybe Mac, I dunno) and I hate firing up the windows box for just one step in my photo processing flow. If I had to use the GIMP for anything else, my brain would be making those noises, too.

    BTW, I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before, but the stuff you do in Photoshop (at least the stuff on your blog) is out-f’n-standing. I am seriously right-brain deficient and I’m amazed that people can concoct stuff like that in their heads and then turn it into something I can see.

  4. Kris, in New England Says:

    Wow – both shots are beautiful but that pine one is extraordinary.

  5. lizardbrain Says:

    Thanks, Kris.

Comments are closed.


