Avast!

This arrived in my inbox today from a very good friend:

Please read: No commitment and this is not a chain.

This is from Pearlas Sandborn who is an attorney;

She says that this will work, why not give it a try.

She believes that Intel will follow through with their promises for fear of facing a multimillion-dollar class action suit.

Microsoft and AOL are now the largest Internet companies.
In an effort to make sure that Internet Explorer remains the
most widely used program, Microsoft and AOL are running an e-mail beta test.

When you forward this e-mail to friends, Microsoft can and will track it if you are a Microsoft Windows user for a two week time period.

For every person that you forward this e-mail to, Microsoft will pay you $245.00. Then for every person that you sent it to that forwards it on, Microsoft will pay you $243.00 and for every third person that receives it You will be paid $241.00.

Within two weeks, Microsoft will contact you for your address and then send you a check.

Regards: Charles S Bailey General Manager Field Operations

1-800-842-2332 Ext. 1085 or 904-1085 or RNX 292-1085

You need to respond before the beta testing is over. If anyone can afford this, Bill Gates is the man.

It’s all marketing expense to him. Please forward this to as many people as possible. I’ve been told that you are bound to get at least $10,000.

I started to reply to it in an email, but then decided it needed greater exposure (hmmm… not sure that’ll happen on this blog).

I’ve seen variations of this before; I’m not even going to bother to take the time to debunk this hoax. (All right, so I couldn’t resist. It took me all of 2 minutes at Snopes.com to find the hoax.) I would like to address another aspect of it, though, if I can do it without descending into an incoherent, foam-spraying rant.

Internet Explorer is probably the worst browser in existence. Because Microsoft wanted to lock in customers to Microsoft products, it made the IE browser an integral part of the company’s so-called operating system. Internet Explorer is the route by which many of the malware programs out there are able to attack your computer. There are several other browsers out there which do a superior job of displaying and interacting with web pages: Safari, Firefox and Opera are just a few. They do their jobs with a minimum of security issues as well; IE, on the other hand hasn’t been updated in years, and suffers from an abundance of security flaws. If you haven’t tried another browser yet, you’re doing yourself a disservice.

If the email that was forwarded to me were indeed true, and Microsoft is actually paying people astounding sums of money to engage in chain emailing, I still wouldn’t use IE. As a matter of fact, the email stops with me.

Why? Because Microsoft is a predatory business entity. The extent of Microsoft’s concern for its users, individual or small business, is how much cash it can extort from them before they go bankrupt. Microsoft engages in piracy. If I accept payments from Microsoft for enabling their business practices, I am also a pirate (arrgh!). While I might find it fun to talk like a pirate every September 19th (okay, some other times, too), actual piracy is not my style.

Also: Even if the email says it’s not a chain, if it asks you to forward it, it’s a chain! If, by the time it has gotten to me, it has been forwarded at least twice, chances are pretty good that it’s just smart spam, the kind that persuades its victims to keep sending it. I delete stuff like this without a qualm.

Not bad. I don’t have to wipe too much spittle from my monitor, and I kept the cuss words to a minimum.

Yarrgh!

